The intercollegiate athletic program at Suffolk University holds a proud tradition amongst all New England Schools. Suffolk is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA- Division III) and competes in the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) in 13 sports:

Fall Men’s Soccer; Women’s Soccer; Women’s Volleyball; Men’s & Women’s Cross Country; Golf; Women’s Tennis (Season starts August 21st- through November 1st) 
Winter Men’s Basketball; Women’s Basketball; Men’s Ice Hockey (Season starts October 1st- March 1st)
Spring Baseball; Softball; Men’s Tennis (Season starts February 1st – May 10th; with a limited fall season September 5th - October 15th)

Student-Athlete Tradition

The athletic teams at Suffolk University promote our student-athletes to excel both in the classroom as well as on the playing field. A student-athlete needs to be attentive to the needs of his/her team, as well as the pursuit of academic excellence towards your degree. As a student-athlete, you can expect a sizable time commitment to your team. 

Commitment

Playing a sport at Suffolk and participating in a varsity athletic program may be different than the secondary school/academy that you attended in your country. For example, you may have had a term of sports skill in your school’s physical education program- followed by a day of competition among neighboring schools. For some, you may have attended a specific school that offered training in a given sport and a more competitive schedule of games.

For the majority of the teams, practices are held daily except Sunday, and a varsity player is expected to attend practice unless he/she has an academic conflict’, or is under treatment for an injury. Most teams practice two hours a day, five days a week, with an extra hour of preparation and post-activity time.

 

Tryouts

Students who are relatively proficient in the sport that interests them and have participated in some competitive team aspect of that sport are invited to try out for one of Suffolk’s athletic teams. Students are expected to come to tryouts in good physical condition, and should not use the tryout period to get in competitive physical shape. For example, Men’s Soccer will run a two-mile (3200 meters) conditioning run within the first three days of practice- that run should be done within a time of 13-15 minutes. Tennis players and golfers should have a proficient, individual skill level. Cross Country runners should have a minimum standard in a 3.1 mile-5K run of under 27:00 for women and an 5.0 mile-8K run of under 40:00 for men.

To answer your questions, and to judge your ability to be competitive on one of Suffolk’s athletic teams, please contact the coach of the sport that interests you for further information:

Interim Athletic Director  Cary McConnell  cmcconell@suffolk.edu
Sports Information Director Anthony DelPrete ajdelprete@suffolk.edu
Athletic Trainer Jeff Stone jstone@suffolk.edu
Men’s Soccer Marco D’Andrea msoccer@suffolk.edu
Women’s Soccer Ernst Cleophat  wsoccer@suffolk.edu
Women’s Volleyball Kristine Mickelson wvolleyball@suffolk.edu
Men’s & Women’s Cross Country Karen McKetchnie  mcketch@suffolk.edu
Golf Ed McMullen golf@suffolk.edu 
Men’s & Women’s Tennis Steve Counihan mtennis@suffolk.edu ; wtennis@suffolk.edu 
Men’s Basketball Adam Nelson anelson@suffolk.edu 
Women’s Basketball Ed Leyden eleyden@suffolk.edu  
Men’s Ice Hockey Chris Glionna hockey@suffolk.edu 
Baseball Cary McConnell cmcconnell@suffolk.edu  
Softball Jackie Davis jmdavis@suffolk.edu