Distinguished Visiting Scholars

A great university is home to a rich quality of discourse. Whether it’s through a public lecture, workshop, performance, panel discussion, film screening or art exhibit, the Distinguished Visiting Scholars Program of the College of Arts & Sciences enhances the intellectual vitality of the entire college community.

Whether they are here for one week, one month, or longer, Visiting Scholars and Scholars in Residence bring new ideas and voices to our campus. During their stay, they often visit classes, meet with student groups, and collaborate intellectually and creatively with our students and faculty members. Many of the Scholars’ formal presentations are open to the public.

Scholars 2013-2014

Distinguished Visiting Scholars 2013-2014

Emilio Aragon, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and composer from Spain who not only is a Suffolk alumnus, but also composed the university alma mater.

Derek Burrows, an award-winning storyteller, musician, and filmmaker.

Casa Patas, supports the teaching, research and promotion of flamenco in all its art forms—song, guitar playing and dance.

Sami Shalom Chetrit, provocative scholar, poet and filmmaker.

Ed Drew, the first photographer since the 19th century to use the wet plate process to produce tintype photographs of Americans in war. He will present as part of Suffolk's "Mirror of Race" Conference, a discussion of photography and the portrayal of race in American history.

David Ferry, prize-winning American poet.

Ibrahim Miari, playwright and performer whose new one-man show In Between explores complex his multi-facted Israeli/Palestinian identity.

Hedrick Smith, reporter and Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Russians, The Power Game and most recently, Who Stole the American Dream?

Past Visiting Scholars

Past Distinguished Visiting Scholars

Since 2004, the College of Arts & Sciences has welcomed a wide range of prominent scholars to campus.

Emilio Aragon, Suffolk alumnus and filmmaker.

Byllye Avery, founder and president of the Avery Institute for Social Change and founder of the National Black Women’s Health Project.

James Bamford, Suffolk alumnus, investigative journalist and author, specializing in national security and intelligence.

Patrick Bond, political economist and director of the Centre for Civil Society.

Stephen Breyer, Associate Justice of the US Supreme Court.

Charles Burnett, a MacArthur award-winning American filmmaker.

Derek Burrows, a storyteller, musician, and filmmaker, who performs with the International music group Voice of the Turtle, specializing in music of the Sephardic Jews.

Sami Shalom Chetrit, provocative scholar, poet and filmmaker.

Frank Christopher, award-winning film producer, director, writer and editor.

John F. Deane, renowned Irish poet, writer and translator.

Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Prize winner, Iranian lawyer, and human rights activist.

Faye Family Drummers, master musicians, and cultural ambassadors from Senegal.

David Ferry, prize-winning American poet.

Flamenco Conservatory Foundation, Casa Patas, supports the teaching, research and promotion of flamenco in all its art forms—song, guitar playing and dance.

Charles Fried, former associate justice of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court.

Lori Ginzberg, noted scholar and author of several books on 19th century women's intellectual lives and political identities.

Paul Griffin, founder and president of the Possibility Project, specializing in youth development and the arts.

Victor Davis Hanson, Senior Fellow in Residence in Classics and Military History at the Hoover Institution and nationally syndicated columnist for Tribune Media Services.

David Hoberman, a leading producer in the entertainment industry, whose movies include The Shaggy Dog, Raising Helen, The Other Sister, and Cocktail.

Edward P. Jones, New York Times bestselling author.

Maxine Hong Kingston, award-winning author who draw on her family’s background as Chinese immigrants in the United States.

Emil Kirchner, an international leader in the research and teaching of European and German politics.

Frances Moore Lappé, an award-winning social and environmental activist and author.

Smadar Lavie, Israeli anthropologist, professor and author, specializing in Middle-Eastern politics, feminism and society.

Beatrice Lazzerini, leading international scholar on Computational Intelligence, concentrating in fuzzy systems, neural networks and evolutionary computation.

Christiane Lemke, professor of political science at Hannover University in Hannover, Germany.

Jennifer Lees-Marshment, a leading expert in political marketing and senior lecturer in political studies at the University of Auckland.

Lynn Margulis, Distinguished University Professor at University of Massachusetts-Amherst, prolific and renowned evolutionary biologist.

Judy Norsigian, executive director and founder of the Boston Women's Book Collaborative, popularly known as Our Bodies Ourselves, and co-author of all editions of Our Bodies, Ourselves.

Vivian W. Pinn, director of the Office of Research on Women’s Health of the National Institutes of Health.

Paul Polak, founder of International Development Enterprises, dedicated to developing practical solutions to eradicating poverty.

Jeff Rosen, legal affairs editor for The New Republic, and contributor to The New York Times Magazine, The New Yorker and National Public Radio.

Hugo Salcedo, award-winning Mexican playwright, poet, essayist, critic and theatre director.

Gabriela Shalev, the first woman in Israel to serve as that country’s Ambassador to the United Nations.

Rogers Smith, an expert on constitutional law, American political thought, and modern legal and political theory.

Kim Stafford, author of a dozen books of poetry and prose, and the director of the Northwest Writing Institute and the William Stafford Center at Lewis & Clark College.

Viola Vaugh, founder and executive director of the Women's Health Education and Prevention Strategies Alliance, and 10,000 Girls in Kaolack, Senegal, West Africa.

Hanes Walton Jr., leading scholar and author on African American Politics, presidential elections, and public policy.

Howard Zinn, celebrated historian, author, and social activist.

Scholars in Residence

Distinguished Scholars in Residence

Robert Brustein, founding director of the Yale Repertory and American Repertory Theatres.

James Carroll, award-winning author and Boston Globe columnist.