Mission Statement

The President's Commission on Diversity Affairs strives to ensure equity for the many ways that diversity is expressed in the Suffolk University community. The Commission is specifically concerned with issues related to gender, identity, sexual orientation, race/ethnicity, interfaith, ability and other appropriate statuses. The Commission provides public advocacy and recommendations on diversity related issues. The Commission is dedicated to the on-going process of enhancing the ways in which Suffolk University welcomes, values, and supports diverse members of the campus community and their allies.


The Commission meets monthly to identify issues and opportunities for advocacy and education, and create sub-committees based around relevant issues or affinity associations. Meeting dates and times for the Spring 2014 semester are:

  • April 25th, 12-2pm, King’s Chapel Conference Room


The Commission consists of faculty, staff and students from the Law School, the Sawyer Business School, the College of Arts and Sciences, and Administration. The members of the Commission and the Office/Department they work in are as follows:

  • Mark Blodgett, Co-Chair, Business Law and Ethics
  • Danielle (Danny) Fontaine, Co-Chair, Center for Teaching Excellence
  • Averil Clarke, Sociology
  • Isatta Coomber, Student
  • Jacinda Felix Haro, Office of Diversity Services
  • Jonathan Jose Angel Acosta Abi Hassan, Student
  • Michael Dello Iacono, Moakley Archive Institute
  • Micky Lee, Communication and Journalism
  • Jhenna Louis, Student
  • Sandy Matava, Public Management
  • Betsy McDowell, Career Development Center
  • Nicole Price, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
  • Kelly Rush, Law School Admission Coordinator
  • Latia Santos, Student
  • Ragini Shah, Law
  • Eva Woodward, Student