Today, President Barack Obama announced his intent to nominate the following individuals to key administration posts:

  • Paula Barker Duffy, Member, National Council on the Humanities
  • Isabel Framer, Member, Board of Directors of the State Justice Institute
  • Susan H. Hildreth, Director, Institute of Museum and Library Services
  • Thomas R. Nides, Deputy Secretary of State for Management and Resources, Department of State
  • Alan Patricof, Member, Board of Directors of the Millennium Challenge Corporation
  • Jo Ann Rooney, Principal Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness, Department
  • Defense Michael Vickers, Under Secretary for Intelligence, Department of Defense
  • Martha Wagner Weinberg, Member, National Council on the Humanities

President Obama said, “The extraordinary dedication and outstanding achievement these men and women bring to their new roles will greatly serve the American people. I am grateful they have agreed to serve in this administration and I look forward to working beside them in the months and years to come.”

Jo Ann Rooney currently serves as the President of Mount Ida College in Massachusetts. She previously served as President of Spalding University in Kentucky for eight years. Prior to her time at Spalding University, Dr. Rooney spent several years as Corporate General Counsel, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of The Lyons Companies, located in Massachusetts. Since 1994, Dr. Rooney has taught courses at several colleges and universities in strategic planning, financial management, leadership and organizational change. She has served as Vice Chair of the Jewish Hospital Saint Mary’s Healthcare System, Chair of the Housing Partnership, Inc., a state-wide affordable housing development and counseling organization, and the Board of Trustees and executive committee of Regis University in Denver, Colorado. Dr. Rooney holds an Ed.D in higher education management from the University of Pennsylvania, an LL.M from Boston University School of Law, a J.D. from Suffolk University Law School and B.S. from Boston University. The White House Office of the Press Secretary