Celebrating CAS Faculty

The College gathers to honor retirees, mark promotions and tenure
Professor Carlos Monteiro stands and waves as he is acknowledged during the CAS Faculty Recognition Celebration
Associate Professor Carlos Monteiro, sociology & criminal justice, was among those honored at the CAS Faculty Recognition Ceremony

The mood was celebratory as College of Arts & Sciences faculty, staff, and guests mingled in Smith Commons of Sargent Hall on the evening of April 24 as over a hundred honorees and attendees gathered for the CAS Faculty Recognition Ceremony, in which newly promoted and tenured faculty were acknowledged and retiring faculty were honored. 

The evening began with remarks by Provost Julie Sandell and a reflection on the importance of peer review by Economics Professor Jonathan Haughton, one of the celebrants of the event. The host of the event, CAS Dean Edie Sparks, then delivered remarks on each promoted or tenured faculty member. Drawing upon their scholarly and personal achievements as well as both lighthearted and touching student course evaluations and comments, the faculty were applauded for what they’ve already contributed to the Suffolk community, as well as the hope that they show for the future. 

Dean Sparks poses with several promoted faculty members at the CAS Faculty Recognition Celebration
CAS Dean Edie Sparks celebrated with recently-promoted faculty members

The promoted and tenured faculty for 2023-2024 are: 

Associate Professor, With Tenure: Mimi Arbeit (psychology); Jessica LoPresti (psychology); Chris Melenovsky (philosophy); Carlos Monteiro (sociology & criminal justice); Bobbi Van Gilder (communication, journalism & media)

Professor: Leslie Eckel (English); Celeste Peterson (biology); Bryan Trabold (English)

Senior or Distinguished Instructor: Benjamin Deissler (mathematics & computer science); Edith Enyedy (chemistry & biochemistry); Frank Irizarry (advertising, public relations & social media); Christina Kulich (political science & legal studies); Ruth Prakasam (English); Maria Serraino (advertising, public relations & social media); Jason Tucker (English); Valerie Vancza (English); Zuoling Wang (mathematics & computer science); Jodi Nevola (advertising, public relations & social media) 

Honoring Deb Geisler

Charlie St. Amand, Practitioner in Residence in the Communication, Journalism & Media Department, delivered a moving remembrance of Deb Geisler, the longtime CJN faculty member who passed away in March. St. Amand gave a memorable tribute to Geisler as both a colleague and friend, but also as his instructor during his own days as a Suffolk undergraduate. Geisler’s husband, Mike, was in attendance, and the creation of a scholarship in her memory was announced.

Celebrating service and scholarship

Several retiring Suffolk faculty pose together at the CAS Faculty Recognition Celebration

Retiring faculty members Linda Brown, art & design; Jonathan Haughton, economics; Walter Johnson, physics; Peter Burn, biology; Pol Perov and Mostapha Ziad, physics; George Kalogeris, English; and  Kevin Carragee, communication, journalism & media. (not pictured: Charles Cramer and Thomas McGrath, history, language & global culture;  Pat Hogan, biochemistry, chemistry, environment & physics; and Deborah Harkins, sociology & criminal justice)

Retiring faculty were introduced through a video produced by Studio 73, Suffolk’s own on-campus television studio. Heartwarming and comical recorded messages from colleagues, students, and friends lauded each retiree alongside photos of their histories at Suffolk. Dean Sparks introduced each retiree and presented them with an award, and then invited each retiring faculty member to the podium to speak. Through remarks both spirited and poignant, faculty were in turns nostalgic, grateful, and optimistic. The retiring faculty are: Linda Brown, art & design; Peter Burn, biology; Kevin Carragee, communication, journalism & media; Charles Cramer and Thomas McGrath, history, language & global culture; George Kalogeris, English; Jonathan Haughton, economics; Pat Hogan, biochemistry, chemistry, environment & physics; Walter Johnson, Mostapha Ziad, and Pol Perov, physics; and Deborah Harkins, sociology & criminal justice.

The evening concluded with remarks from President Marisa Kelly, who conveyed her appreciation for the retiring faculty members and their many years of service, and also her enthusiasm for the new crop of faculty and the promise they hold to the institution. 

For a night of many words, perhaps it was the sweet, succinct speech of the College’s longest-serving faculty member, Professor Walter Johnson, that said the most: “As I look back at my career, if I could do it again, I would.” 

Professor Walter Johnson smiles as he speaks at the podium in the Smith lounge
Retiring Physics Professor Walter Johnson reflected on his 52-year career at Suffolk