Extra, Extra: Student Newspaper Wins National Award


The Suffolk Journal, best known for reporting the news, is now making headlines of its own.

The University’s weekly student publication was recognized as one of the finest all-around collegiate newspapers nationwide by the College Media Association.

The Journal placed second in the “Best Newspaper” category among small, four-year schools.

Suffolk Journal Editor-in-Chief Alexa Gagosz and other staff members were on hand at the College Media Association annual conference in New York City to hear that they had won a 2017 David L. Adams Apple Award.

“This is great news for all of us at the Journal and the University,” said Gagosz, Class of 2018, a print journalism major. “Working at the paper is a twenty-four-seven job. It makes all the work we do worthwhile.”

Gagosz entered three different editions of the newspaper into the highly competitive contest. The issues highlighted the publication’s strong focus in the areas of overall reporting, photography, and graphic design.

“The Journal is a very well-rounded paper,” said Gagosz. “Our coverage ranges from hard-hitting news, to arts and culture, to sports. We’ll even take on global issues and show how Suffolk students and people in the Greater Boston area are affected by them.”

She said that student reporters are encouraged “to not only find both sides of a story, but all perspectives.”

Communication and Journalism Professor Bruce Butterfield, the Journal’s faculty adviser, said he believes that the contest judges were impressed with the overall quality of the paper.

“I think they looked at all the sections and felt the coverage was in-depth, and well written – from our front page news stories to our back page stories on sports,” said Butterfield. “We had strong content, design, and presentation throughout the paper.”

He also praised his team of young journalists as “hardworking and committed to doing whatever is needed to get the job done.”

In addition to Gagosz, members of the Suffolk Journal editorial staff are:

  • Chris DeGusto, news editor
  • Jacob Geanous, world news editor
  • Felicity Otterbein, arts & culture editor
  • Patrick Holmes, opinion editor
  • Katie Dugan, assistant opinion editor
  • Skylar To, sports editor
  • Brooke Patterson, assistant sports editor
  • Haley Clegg, photography editor
  • Sam Humphrey, newsroom manager