The approved Labor and Employment Law Concentration courses are as follows. In order to successfully complete the Labor and Employment Law Concentration, students must take a minimum of twenty one (21) credits in the following approved Labor and Employment Law Concentration courses, including the three (3) required courses; two (2) experiential learning courses; two (2) elective courses, and an externship, as described below.

Complete course descriptions are accessed by clicking on the course name.Links to individual instructors' course descriptions are provided when more than one section of a course is offered, and an instructor has posted a specific description. Please note that not all courses are offered each semester and/or each year and plan accordingly.  Courses may be taken in any order, but students must comply with any prerequisites.

A. Core Courses

Students must take the following three (3) required courses:

  1. One (1) of the courses from the following list:
    1. Employment Law (3 Credits)
    2. Employment Law: Lawyering Approach (4 Credits)
  2. Employment Discrimination Law (3 Credits)
  3. Labor Law (3 Credits)

B. Skills Courses

Students must take at least two (2) courses from among the following three (3) course Groups. Only one course may be taken from each Group:

  1. Group 1 - Advanced Legal Writing Courses
    1. Advanced Legal Writing (3 Credits)
  2. Group 2 - Negotiation/Mediation Courses
    1. Mediation (3 Credits)
    2. Negotiation (2 Credits)
  3. Group 3 - Practice Courses
    1. Compliance Practice Seminar (2 Credits)
    2. E-Discovery Law (2 Credits)
    3. ERISA and Retirement Plans (2 Credits)
    4. Interviewing and Counseling (2 Credits)
    5. Interviewing, Counseling and Negotiation (4 Credits)
    6. Labor and Employment Arbitration (3 Credits)
    7. Pre-Trial Civil Litigation (3 Credits)
    8. Trial Advocacy (2 Credits)
    9. Trial Advocacy Intensive (3 Credits)

C. Externship

  1. Externship in a Labor or Employment Law Placement (3 Credits)

D. Electives

Students must take at least two (2) courses adding up to five (5) credits from among the following:

  1. Administration Law (3 Credits)
  2. Basic Federal Income Taxation (4 Credits)
  3. Concentration Thesis (2 Credits)
  4. Directed Study on a Labor or Employment Law Topic (2 Credits)
  5. Education Law (3 Credits)
  6. Government Lawyer: Legislation (2 Credits)
  7. Health Law (3 Credits)
  8. Immigration Law (3 Credits)
  9. Public Interest Law Seminar (2 Credits)
  10. Statutory Interpretation (2 Credits)
  11. Workers' Compensation* (2 Credits)

*offered every other year

E. The College of Arts & Sciences

The Co-Directors of the LEL Concentration will be developing opportunities for student to take a maximum of six (6) elective credits in courses at the College of Arts and Sciences or the Graduate Program at the Sawyer Business School. The number of credits taken at the College of Arts and Sciences or the Graduate Program at the Sawyer Business School will reduce a student’s number of Law School elective credits.

Possible courses include MBA 610 - Organizational BehaviorMGOB 825 - Human Resource Management, and MGBO 841 - Managing Workplace Diversity. Other College of Arts and Sciences and Sawyer School courses may also be approved for Concentration credit in the discretion of the Concentration Faculty Director(s) and/or the Administrative Director of Concentrations.

For a complete Sawyer Business School course catalog and current course schedules, please visit the Sawyer Business School website.