Fall

The fall calendar for the Suffolk University Madrid campus is below, with dates covering the main events and deadlines for the program.

Fall 2019 Academic Calendar

21 August - 12 December

Day Date Event
APRIL 2019
Tuesday Apr 2 Senior priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2019*
Wednesday Apr 3 Junior priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2019*
Thursday Apr 4 Sophomore priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2019*
Friday Apr 5 Freshman priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2019*
Monday Apr 8 SUMC new student pre-registration opens for Summer & Fall 2019*
AUGUST 2019
Thursday Aug 1 Fall 2019 tuition and fee payments due*
Wednesday Aug 21 Arrival date for all new students (except API & PSB)
SUMC housing opens
Thursday-Friday Aug 22-23 Mandatory orientation sessions for new students (except API)
Monday Aug 26 Mandatory orientation sessions for new students (continue)
Tuesday-Friday Aug 27-30 Welcome trip to Málaga for all students (except API)
SEPTEMBER 2019
Monday Sep 2 Mandatory academic orientation for all new students
Tuesday Sep 3 First day of Tuesday and Thursday classes Fall 2019
Wednesday Sep 4 First day of Monday and Wednesday classes Fall 2019
Tuesday Sep 10 Last day for late registration*
Wednesday Sep 11 50% tuition liability begins*
Friday Sep 13 GVT 367 Politics of Spain Madrid activity1
Wednesday Sep 18 75% tuition liability begins*
Thursday-Sunday Sept 20-22 SUMC cultural trip to Lisbon, Portugal**
Tuesday Sep 24 Last day to drop a class without a grade of W*
Wednesday Sep 25 100% tuition liability begins*

Thursday-Monday

Sept 26-Sept 30 SCI L111 M1 Structure of the Universe lab trip to Canary Islands2
OCTOBER 2019
Monday-Friday Oct 7-18 Midterm exam period***
Saturday Oct 12 Spanish National Holiday - Día de la Hispanidad
Monday Oct 21 Midterm grades due by noon
Friday-Sunday Oct 25-27 SUMC cultural trip to Budapest, Hungary**
NOVEMBER 2019
Friday Nov 1 Madrid National holiday - Todos los Santos (Campus closed)
Friday Nov 1 Last day to withdraw from a course without a grade of F*
Tuesday Nov 5 Spring 2020 Priority online pre-registration for seniors*
Wednesday Nov 6 Spring 2020 Priority online pre-registration for juniors*
Thursday Nov 7 Spring 2020 Priority online pre-registration for sophomores*
Friday Nov 8 Spring 2020 Priority online pre-registration for freshmen*
Friday Nov 8

ARH 101 Art History day trip to Toledo3

Monday Nov 11 Spring 2020 registration for new SUMC students begins*
Friday-Sunday Nov 22-24 SUMC cultural trip to Rome, Italy**
Tuesday Nov 26 Last day of T/TH classes
Wednesday Nov 27 Last day of M/W classes
Thursday Nov 28 Reading day
DECEMBER 2019
Monday Dec 2 Final exams begin***
Tuesday Dec 3 Final exams***
Wednesday Dec 4 Final exams*** 
Thursday Dec 5 Final exams***
Friday Dec 6 Spanish national holiday - Constitution Day (Campus closed)
Monday Dec 9 Spanish national holiday - Immaculate Conception (Campus closed)
Tuesday Dec 10 Final exams***
Wednesday Dec 11 Final exams end***
SUMC Farewell Dinner
Thursday Dec 12 Winter break begins
Students must vacate housing before noon
Monday Dec 16 Final grades due by noon

Notes:

* Dates as of May 27, 2019

** Participation in one of these trips is automatically included in students’ tuition and fees. Students may also sign up through the Student Activities Office for an additional trip for an extra fee. Payment deadlines will be announced.

1This trip is only for students enrolled in GVT 367 Politics of Spain.

2This trip is only for students enrolled in SCI L111 Intro. to Astronomy Lab.

3This trip is only for students enrolled in ARH 101 Art History I.

***Dates for specific exams will be published separately and may be subject to change; therefore, students should not make arrangements for any personal plans or travel during the stated midterm and final exam periods. Exams will not be re-scheduled to accommodate student travel or other personal plans.

The Spanish Ministry of Labor publishes the calendar of official holidays a few months ahead of the relevant year. Therefore, it is possible that there may be changes in the Suffolk University Madrid Campus calendar. Otherwise, changes are expected to be slight.

Suffolk University Madrid Campus reserves the right to alter these dates should the need arise.