Fall

The fall calendar for the Suffolk University Madrid campus is below, with dates covering the main events and deadlines for the program.

Academic Calendar - Fall 2022

29 August – 15 December

 
Month Date Event

April

Tuesday 12-Apr Senior priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2022*
Wednesday 13-Apr Junior priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2022*
Thursday 14-Apr Sophomore priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2022*
Friday 15-Apr Freshman priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2022*
Monday 18-Apr SUMC new student pre-registration opens for Summer & Fall 2022*

August

Sunday 1-Aug Fall 2022 tuition and fee payments due* (TBC)
Monday 29-Aug Arrival date for all students (except API & PSB)
SUMC housing opens
Tues-Wed 30 Aug-31 Aug Mandatory orientation sessions for NEW students (except API)

September

Thurs-Sunday 1-4 Sept Welcome trip to Asturias for all students
Monday 5-Sep Mandatory orientation for NEW students (including API)
Tuesday 6-Sep First day of TTH classes Fall 2022
Wednesday 7-Sep First day of MW classes Fall 2022
Tuesday 13-Sep Last day for late registration* (end of add/drop period)
Wednesday 14-Sep 50% tuition liability begins*
Wednesday 21-Sep 75% tuition liability begins*
Friday-Sunday 23-25 Sep SUMC cultural trip to Málaga **
Tuesday 27-Sep Last day to drop a class without a grade of W*
Wednesday 28-Sep 100% tuition liability begins*
Friday-Tuesday 30 Sep-4 Oct SCI L111 M1 Structure of the Universe mandatory lab trip1 (TBC) 

October

Friday-Sunday 7-9 Oct SUMC cultural trip (destination TBA)**
Monday-Friday 10-21 Oct Midterm exam period 
Tuesday 12-Oct Spanish national holiday—Día de la Hispanidad (campus closed)
Monday 24-Oct Midterm grades due before noon
Friday 28-Oct ARH 101 day trip to Toledo1 (TBC)
Friday 28-Oct Last day to declare Pass/Fail for a 22/FA Course* (TBC)
Last day to withdraw from a course without a grade of F* (TBC)

November

Tuesday 1-Nov National holiday—Todos los Santos (Campus closed)
Friday 4-Nov HST 357 The Origins of Spain mandatory day trip1 (TBC)
Wednesday 9-Nov Local holiday—Nuestra señora de la Almudena (campus closed)
Friday-Sunday 11-13 Nov SUMC cultural trip (destination TBC) **
Tuesday 15-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for seniors* (TBC)
Wednesday 16-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for juniors* (TBC)
Thursday 17-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for sophomores* (TBC)
Friday 18-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for freshmen* (TBC)
Monday 21-Nov Spring 2023 registration for new SUMC students begins* (TBC)

December

Thursday 1-Dec Last day of TTH classes
Friday 2-Dec Reading day
Tuesday 6-Dec National holiday - Constitution Day (campus closed)
Wednesday 7-Dec Last day of MW classes
Thursday 8-Dec  National holiday - Inmaculada Concepcion (campus closed)
Friday 9-Dec Final exams begin 
Monday 12-Dec Final exams 
Tuesday 13-Dec Final exams 
Wednesday 14-Dec Final exams 
Thursday 15-Dec Final exams make up day 
SUMC farewell dinner
Friday 16-Dec Students vacate housing
Monday 19-Dec Final grades due by noon

Notes

* Dates as of 28 April 2021

** Participation in one of these trips is automatically included in students’ tuition and fees

1 Lab trips and day trips associated with certain courses are only for students registered in the corresponding class.

Dates for specific exams will be published separately and may be subject to change; therefore, students should not make arrangements for any personal plans or travel during the stated midterm and final exam periods. Exams will not be re-scheduled to accommodate student travel or other personal plans.

The Spanish Ministry of Labor publishes the calendar of official holidays a few months ahead of the relevant year. Therefore, it is possible that there may be changes in the Suffolk University Madrid Campus calendar. Otherwise, changes are expected to be slight.

Suffolk University Madrid Campus reserves the right to alter these dates, should the need arise. Therefore, students are required to purchase plane tickets that can be changed or are fully refundable. Suffolk University will not be held responsible for extra changes students may incur due to changes on the academic calendar.