Spring

The Spring calendar for the Suffolk University Madrid campus is below, with dates covering the main events and deadlines for the program.

Spring 2021 Academic Calendar (January 12 - April 30)

Updated Nov. 30, 2020

NOVEMBER 2020
Monday Nov 16
Honors with start term prior to FA20 registration for Spring 2021
Tuesday Nov 17
Senior priority registration for Spring 2021
Wednesday Nov 18
Junior priority registration for Spring 2021
Thursday Nov 19
Sophomore priority registration for Spring 2021
Friday Nov 20
Freshman priority registration for Spring 2021
DECEMBER 2020
 
Tuesday Dec 1 New students pre-registration for Spring 2021
JANUARY 2021  
Friday Jan 1 Holiday - New Year's Day
Sunday Jan 3 Spring 2021 tuition due date
Wednesday Jan 6 Holiday-Epiphany
Tuesday Jan 12 Arrival date for all students
ALL students can move into their SUMC housing
Wednesday Jan 13  Mandatory academic/cultural orientation
Thursday Jan 14 Mandatory academic/cultural orientation for NEW students
3:30 pm-6:00 pm Registration adjustments for all students
Tuesday Jan 19 First day of TTH classes
Wednesday Jan 20 First day of MW classes
Tuesday Jan 26 Last day for late registration and course changes (add/drop)
Wednesday Jan 29

HST 358 day trip (TBC)1

FEBRUARY
 
Monday Feb 1 Last day to join face to face classes (with permission from academic coordinator)
Monday Feb 8 Last day to drop courses without a grade “W”
Friday Feb 12 ARH 102 field trip to El Escorial (TBC)2
Monday-Friday Feb 22-26 Midterm exams
MARCH
Monday-Friday Mar 1-5 Midterm exams (cont'd)
Monday Mar 8 Midterm grades due by noon.
Thursday-Monday Mar 11-15 SCI L 112 trip to Tenerife (TBC)3
Friday Mar 26 Last day for withdrawal from courses without a grade of "F"
Tuesday Mar 30 Senior priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2021
Wednesday Mar 31 Junior priority online pre-registration for Summer & Fall 2021
APRIL   
Thursday Apr 1 Holiday - Holy Thursday
Sophomore priority online pre-registration Summer & Fall 2021
Friday Apr 2 Holiday - Good Friday
Freshman priority online pre-registration Summer & Fall 2021
Tuesday Apr 6 Summer & Fall 2021 pre-registration opens for new students
Friday-Sunday Apr 9-11

SCI 103 lab trip to Basque Country (TBC)4

Monday Apr 19
Last day of MW classes
Tuesday Apr 20
Last day of TTH classes
Wednesday Apr 21
Reading day
Thursday Apr 22 Final exams begin
Friday Apr 23
Final exams
Monday
Apr 26
Final exams
Tuesday
Apr 27
Final exams
Wednesday
Apr 28
Final exams
Thursday
Apr 29
Final exams (make up day)
Friday
Apr 30
Student vacate housing
MAY  
Monday May 3 Holiday - Madrid region day (deferred)
Tuesday May 4 Final grades due by noon

Notes

1This trip is only for students enrolled in HST 358 History of Spain II.
2This trip is only for students enrolled in ARH 102 Art History II.
3This trip is only for students enrolled in SCI 112 Structure of the Universe.
4This trip is only for students enrolled in SCI 103 Environmental Science.
*Both MW and TTH classes can be made up on this day if needed

*Dates for specific exams will be published separately and may be subject to change; therefore, students should not make arrangements for any personal plans or travel during the stated midterm and final exam periods. Exams will not be rescheduled to accommodate travel or other personal plans.

The Spanish Ministry of Labor publishes the calendar of official holidays a few months ahead of the relevant year. Therefore, it is possible that there may be changes in the Suffolk University Madrid Campus calendar. Otherwise, changes are expected to be slight.

Suffolk University Madrid Campus reserves the right to alter these dates should the need arise.

As of Jan 14 2020