Spring

The Spring calendar for the Suffolk University Madrid campus is below, with dates covering the main events and deadlines for the program.

Spring 2023 Academic Calendar

(9 January – 6 May)

MONTH DATE EVENT
November 2022
Tuesday 15-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for seniors*
Wednesday 16-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for juniors*
Thursday 17-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for sophomores*
Friday 18-Nov Spring 2023 Priority online pre-registration for freshmen*
Monday 21-Nov Spring 2023 registration for new SUMC students begins*
January 2023
Monday 2-Jan Spring 2023 tuition due date*
Holiday—New Year (campus closed)
Friday 6-Jan Holiday—Epiphany (campus closed)
Monday 9-Jan Arrival date for all students (except API)
Tuesday-Wednesday 10-11 Jan Mandatory cultural orientation for NEW students (except API)
Thursday-Sunday 12-15 Jan Welcome trip (destination TBA)
Monday 16-Jan Mandatory academic orientation for ALL new students
Tuesday 17-Jan First day of TTH classes
Wednesday 18-Jan First day of MW classes
Tuesday 24-Jan Last day for late registration (add/drop) *
Wednesday 25-Jan 50% tuition liability begins for Spring 2023*
Friday 27-Jan Enrollment confirmations due date*
February
Wednesday 1-Feb 75% tuition liability begins for Spring 2023*
Friday 3-Feb HST 358 Mandatory day trip1 (TBC)
Tuesday 7-Feb Last day to drop a course without a grade of “W” *
Wednesday 8-Feb 100% tuition liability begins for Spring 2022*
Friday 10-Feb ARH 102 Mandatory day trip to El Escorial1 (TBC)
Friday-Sunday 10-12 Feb SUMC Cultural trip (destination TBA)**
Monday ‡ 20 Feb Midterm exams begin ‡
March
Friday ‡ 3 Mar Midterm exams end (make-up day)‡
Monday 6-Mar Midterm grades due by noon
Saturday-Sunday 11-19 Mar SPRING BREAK
Monday 20-Mar Holiday – San José (campus closed)
Friday 24-Mar Last day to drop a course without a grade of “F”*
Last day to declare Pass/Fail for a 23/SP course*
Friday-Sunday 24-26 Mar SUMC Cultural trip (destination TBA)**
Thursday-Monday 23-27 Mar SCI 112 Mandatory Astronomy lab trip1 (TBC)
April
Friday-Sunday Dates TBA SCI 103 Mandatory lab trip1
Thursday 6-Apr Holiday: Maundy Thursday (Campus closed)
Friday 7-Apr Holiday: Good Friday (Campus closed)
Tuesday 11-Apr Senior Priority online pre-registration for Fall 2022 *
Wednesday 12-Apr Junior priority online pre-registration for Fall 2022 *
Thursday 13-Apr Sophomore priority online pre-registration for Fall 2022 *
Friday 14-Apr Freshman priority online pre-registration for Fall 2022 *
Friday-Sunday 14-16 Apr SUMC Cultural trip (destination TBA)**
Monday 17-Apr Fall 2022 pre-registration opens for new students *
Thursday 20-Apr Last day of TTH classes
Friday 21-Apr Classes makeup date available
Monday 24-Apr Last day of MW classes
Tuesday 25-Apr Reading day
Wednesday ‡ 26 Apr Final exams begin ‡
Thursday ‡ 27 Apr Final exams ‡
Friday ‡ 28 Apr Final exams ‡
May
Monday 1-May Labor Day Holiday (campus closed)
Tuesday 2-May Madrid Local Holiday (campus closed)
Wednesday ‡ 3 May Final exams ‡
Thursday ‡ 4 May Final exams ‡
Friday ‡ 5 May Final exams (make-up day) ‡
Commencement Ceremony & Farewell Dinner
Saturday 6-May Summer break begins; students vacate housing by noon
Monday 8-May Final grades due to SUMC by noon
Monday 15-May Madrid Local Holiday (campus closed)

Notes:

* Dates from Suffolk University Academic Calendar as of September, 2022.

** Participation in one of these trips is automatically included in students’ tuition and fees. For students who do not choose to participate in any of the trips included, no refund will be available.

1 Lab trips and course-related trips are mandatory and only for students registered in the corresponding class.

‡ Dates for specific exams will be published separately and may be subject to change; therefore, students should not make arrangements for any personal plans or travel during the stated midterm and final exam periods. Exams will not be rescheduled to accommodate travel or other personal plans.

The Spanish Ministry of Labor publishes the calendar of official holidays a few months ahead of the relevant year. Therefore, it is possible that there may be changes in the Suffolk University Madrid Campus calendar. Otherwise, changes are expected to be slight.

Suffolk University Madrid Campus reserves the right to alter these dates should the need arise.