Experiential Learning Committee

This committee was created in response to the Suffolk 2025 Strategic Plan which calls for a university-wide experiential learning committee consisting of faculty from all three schools, and representatives from Student Affairs and Student Success, co-chaired by the Provost and the Dean of Students.

The committee works with faculty and staff to implement and integrate the philosophy of experiential learning throughout the student experience both inside and outside the classroom. The committee also supports the development and expansion of academic and co-curricular experiential learning initiatives through small grants to faculty and staff.

2022-2023 Experiential Learning Committee


  • Kim M. McLaurin, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Law; Clinical Professor of Law
  • David Deangelis, Associate Dean Student Leadership


  • Linda S. Bruenjes, Director, Center for Teaching and Excellence
  • Gary Fireman, Associate Provost for Assessment and Chief Data Officer
  • Lauren Nolfo-Clement, Interim Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences; Professor Biology
  • Adam Westbrook, Director, Center for Community Engagement
  • Audrey Goldstein, Professor, Art & Design
  • Julia Collins Howington, University Archivist/Moakley Institute Director
  • Dave Merry, Associate Provost and Executive Director for Career Equity, Development, & Success
  • Sarah Boonin, Associate Dean for Experiential Learning, Law; Director of Clinical Programs; Clinical Professor of Law
  • Jodi Detjen, Associate Dean of Innovative Education and Programs, Sawyer Business School; Executive Director of the MBA Program; Associate Professor of Practice
  • Andrew Smith, Associate Professor, Marketing
  • Joyya P. Smith, Vice President for Diversity, Access & Inclusion