Committee for Teaching & Scholarly Development

The Committee for Teaching and Scholarly Development (CTSD) solicits and reviews proposals for a number of competitive faculty development programs administered by CAS. These include applications for summer research stipends, course development stipends, and course release awards. The Committee also reviews faculty requests for funding to employ research assistants through the Faculty Research Assistant Program (FRAP) and the summer FRAP (SFRAP) programs.

Six tenured or tenure-track members of the CAS faculty are appointed by the Dean for two-year terms, with two members representing each division; an appointment may be renewed a second term. A CAS associate dean, designated by the Dean, serves as convener (non-voting), and manages proposal submission, review, and communication regarding funding decisions.

During the term of service, committee members are not eligible to apply for awards that involve direct funding or release time to the faculty member. All committee recommendations are advisory to the dean of CAS.

Committee for Teaching and Scholarly Development Members

Name Department
Bursik, Krisanne, Convener Dean's Office  
DiBiase, Rosemarie Psychology
McGrath, Thomas History, Language & Global Culture
Mohtadi, Shahruz
Peterson, Celeste Biology
Trabold, Bryan English
Zinoviev, Dmitry Mathematics & Computer Science

Teaching and Scholarly Development Award Recipients 2022-2023

Summer Research Stipends
Arbeit, Miriam Psychology 
Dominguez, Roberto  Political Sciences & Legal Studies 
Gitelman, Anna  Art & Design 
Hilliard, Lacey Psychology
Kaiser, Jonas Communication, Journalism & Media 
Levine, Jeremy   Communication, Journalism & Media  
Lysiak, Nadine S.  Biology 
Makriyannis, Christos  Economics 
McGehee, Annette M.  Biology 
Sheikholeslami, Azadeh  Math & Computer Science  
Tang, Sarah  Economics 
Van Gilder, Bobbi Communication, Journalism & Media 
Xu, Zhiyong  Math & Computer Science  
Yan, Youpei  Economics 
FRAP (Research Assistant) Awards
Berkmen, Melanie Chemistry & Biochemistry 
Dominguez, Roberto  Political Sciences & Legal Studies 
Kaiser, Jonas  Communication, Journalism & Media 
Levine, Jeremy
Communication, Journalism & Media 
Martinez, Jennifer  Psychology 
McGehee, Annette M.  Biology 
Moreno, Iani D.
History, Language & Global Culture  
Summer FRAP Awards
Anderson, Ilona
Art & Design
Hilliard, Lacey
Kaiser, Jones Communication, Journalism & Media 
McGehee, Annette M.  Biology 
Peterson, Celeste  Biology 
Tang, Sarah Economics 
Course Development Stipends
Ben-Josef Hirsch, Michal
Political Sciences & Legal Studies
Monticello, Amy L.  English 
Reeve, Patricia A.  History, Language & Global Culture 
Stocker, Kelsey   Division of Physical Sciences 
Tucker, Jason  English