Second Annual Intellectual Property Conference

Event Details

Date & Time:

  • October 29, 4:00 AM - October 30, 1:00 PM



Event Description

Suffolk University Law School’s Second Annual Intellectual Property & Innovation Conference will bring together intellectual property scholars, law firm practitioners, in-house counsel, trade association leaders and policy makers. Focused on IP and innovation, this event will cover what motivates innovators and how the law impacts discoveries, creativity, and the sharing of new ideas, cures, technologies and inventions.

Draft schedule (subject to change) is available to download [PDF].

Current Confirmed Speakers and panelists include:

  • Erich Andersen, Corporate Vice President and Chief Intellectual Property Officer, Microsoft
  • Cory Bell, Adjunct Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School, and Attorney, Finnegan
  • Eric. E. Bensen, Co-Author, Milgrim on Trade Secret
  • Deepika Bhayana, Senior Managing Legal Director, IP at Dell Technologies
  • Larissa Bifano, Partner, DLA Piper
  • Carolyn Blankenship, Director, IP, Thomson Reuters
  • Tom Brown, Senior Legal Director, Dell Technologies
  • Margaret Chon, Donald and Lynda Horowitz Professor for the Pursuit of Justice, Seattle University School of Law
  • Rena Conti, Associate Research Director of Biopharma & Public Policy for the Boston University Institute for Health System Innovation & Policy
  • Robert K. Coughlin, President & CEO, Mass Bio
  • Rebecca Curtin, Associate Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School
  • Daniel Dardani, Technology Licensing Officer, MIT
  • Loletta Darden, Assistant Clinical Professor and Director of the Intellectual Property and Entrepreneurship Clinic, Suffolk University Law School
  • Chad Davis, Partner, Dechert
  • Jeffrey Francer, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, Association for Accessible Medicines (AAM)
  • Stefania Fusco, Senior Lecturer, Notre Dame University Law School
  • Stephen Gaudet, Ph.D., Director of Intellectual Property, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc., former Senior Patent Counsel at AbbVie
  • Leah Chan Grinvald, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School
  • Jennifer Karnakis, Director of Intellectual Property Programs, Suffolk University Law School
  • Adam Kessel, Principal, Fish & Richardson
  • Megan La Belle, Professor of Law, Catholic University School of Law
  • Bruce Leicher, former General Counsel, Momenta Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
  • Travis McCready, President & CEO, Massachusetts Life Sciences Center
  • Stephen McJohn, Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School
  • Michael Meurer, Professor of Law, Abraham and Lillian Benton Scholar, Boston University School of Law
  • Byron Olsen, Vice President, Chief Patent Counsel at Dicerna Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
  • Andrew Perlman, Dean and Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School
  • Aaron Perzanowski, Professor of Law, Case Western Reserve School of Law
  • Scott Peterson, Senior Commercial Counsel, Red Hat, Inc.
  • Alexandra Roberts, Associate Professor of Law, University of New Hampshire School of Law
  • Michael Rustad, Thomas F. Lambert Jr. Professor of Law, Co-Director of Suffolk University Law School, Intellectual Property Concentration
  • Joshua Sarnoff, Professor of Law, DePaul University Law School
  • Hans Sauer, Deputy General Counsel for Intellectual Property, BIO
  • David Schuler, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Bose Corporation
  • Jacob S. Sherkow, Edmond J. Safra/Petrie-Flom Centers Joint Fellow-in-Residence, Harvard University; Professor of Law at the Innovation Center for Law and Technology, New York Law School
  • Ofer Tur-Sinai, Senior Lecturer, Ono Academic College, Israel
  • Craig Smith, Partner, Lando & Anastasi
  • Mark Sullivan, Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, Suffolk University
  • Christine Taft, Senior Licensing Manager at Partners HealthCare
  • Charlotte Tschider, Visiting Assistant Professor of Law, University of Nebraska College of Law
  • Rebecca Tushnet, Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
  • James H. Velema, Partner, Lathrop Gage
  • Saurabh Vishnubhakat, Associate Professor of Law, Texas A&M University School of Law
  • Miriam Vogel, Executive Director, EqualAI
  • Maria Laccotripe Zacharakis, Partner, McCarter & English

We gratefully acknowledge the generosity of Meg and Mark Sullivan, JD’79.

Thank you to our Gold Level Sponsors












Thank you to our Silver Level Sponsors