Mental Health Task Force

Suffolk’s Mental Health Task Force works collaboratively to support Suffolk’s response to the mental health needs of our students.

The MH Task Force was formed in 2022 as Suffolk began the 4-year process to become a recognized JED Campus. The Mental Health Task Force is responsible for implementing strategic priorities focused on suicide prevention, mental health awareness and referral skills for faculty, staff, and students, and building upon Suffolk’s long-standing culture of care.

In the fall 2022 semester, students completed the Healthy Minds Study.
The results of that assessment are being used by Suffolk’s Mental Health Task Force to help our campus prioritize mental health, well-being, and suicide prevention. Study Results [PDF]

Mental Health Task Force Members

Peter Fowler, Assistant Provost & Co-Chair
Amanda McGrath, Dean of Undergraduate Student Affairs & Co-Chair
Stephanie Kendall, Director, Counseling, Health & Wellness & Co-Chair

Beatriz Patino, Director, Center for Student Diversity and Inclusion
Richard W. Chambers, Department Chair, Theatre
Andrew S. Cioffi, Director, Office of Disability Services
Theresa Doherty, Associate Director, Orientation and New Student Programs
Laura Ferrari, Vice President, Student Affairs
Gary D. Fireman, Associate Provost, Assessment
Greg Gatlin, Vice President, Communications
Shailini J. George, Professor, Law School
Laura L. Golitko, Assistant Director, Wellness
Karen L. Kruppa, Chief Risk Officer
Jeremy LaPointe, Director, Housing and Residential Life
Catherine LaRaia, Assistant Director, Title IX and Bias Review
Ramon Nunez, Captain, University Police
Adam Skaggs, Associate Director of Athletics
Collin Smith, Administrative Coordinator, Student Affairs
Yvonne Wells, Associate Professor, Psychology
Cherina Wright, Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs
Chrisy Yao, Department Chair, Information Systems and Operations Management

Students are invited to participate through focus groups, programming opportunities, and campus events—for more information, email one of the co-chairs: Peter Fowler, Amanda McGrath, or Stephanie Kendall.

Students looking for mental health support at Suffolk can learn more on our Counseling, Health & Wellness page.