Faculty & Staff - Art & Design

The Art & Design faculty and staff are here to help the Suffolk University community as a whole—students should contact their professors and administrators to address all questions and concerns.

The department is located on the 10th floor of the Sawyer building. The office is open Mondays - Fridays 8:45 a.m. - 4:45 p.m.

Phone number: 617-573-8785

Full-Time Faculty

Studio Art & Foundation Studies

Randal Thurston
Professor & Department Chair

Ilona Anderson
Associate Professor

Linda Brown

Audrey Goldstein
Professor & Program Director - Studio Art

Susan Nichter

Steve Novick

Interior Architecture & Design

Sandro Carella
Assistant Professor 

Anna Gitelman
Associate Professor

Nancy Hackett
Associate Professor

Sean Solley
Associate Professor & Graduate Program Director - Interior Architecture

Graphic Design

Keith Kitz
Program Director - Graphic Design

Kristen Mallia
Assistant Professor

Kayla Schwartz

Emeritus Professors

Harry Bartnick
Professor Emeritus

Mark Brus
Associate Professor Emeritus

Karen Clarke
Associate Professor Emerita

Jennifer Fuchel
Associate Professor Emerita

Laura Golly
Professor Emerita

Lydia Martin
Professor Emerita

Part-Time Faculty

Part-time faculty may be reached at the main department phone number unless otherwise noted (617-973-5307).

The part-time faculty office is located in the Sawyer Building at 8 Ashburton Place, Room A26.

Interior Architecture & Design  

Adam Cournoyer
MS, Wentworth Institute of Technology
BS, Wentworth Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Ghiseline
MArch, Harvard University Graduate School of Design
BFA, University of Massachusetts Amherst  

Joseph Killoh
MS, Boston Architectural College
BS, Wentworth Institute of Technology

Sean Stewart
MArch, San Francisco Institute of Architecture
BA, Boston Architectural Center 

Amy Van Lauwe
March, Boston Architectural College
MA, Boston College
BA, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Patricia Zerhusen
Senior Lecturer
MAIA, Suffolk University
BS, Rochester Institute of Technology

Graphic Design

Peter Bianco
Senior Lecturer
MFA, Boston University
BFA, Massachusetts College of Art 

Joel Gendron
Senior Lecturer
BFA, The New England School of Art and Design

Tara Pastina
MAGD, Suffolk University
BA, State University of New York 

Sarah Shufelt
BFA, Corcoran College of Art
Diploma, The Art Institute

Madison Umbrello
BFA, Suffolk University

Abigail Weston
MA, Suffolk University
BA, Stonehill College

Fine Arts & Foundation Studies 

Dale Stephanos

Department Staff

Deborah Davidson
Gallery Director
Office: Sawyer Building, Room 626A 

Virginia Lane
Director of Continuing Education & Preparatory Programs
Office: Sawyer Building, Room 1025

Robin Hockett
Art & Design Maker Space Manager
Office: Sawyer Building, Room B31C

Elaine Jue
Administrative Coordinator
Sawyer Building, 10th Floor