The Public Service Award is given annually to an attorney who shows an outstanding commitment to public service, including legal assistance to disadvantaged individuals and communities, advocacy to improve public policy, and government service.

Past Honorees

2014 Recipient
Bill Sinnott
Corporation Counsel, City of Boston

William Sinnott, JD '85, was the 2014 recipient of the Rappaport Center's Public Service Award for his service to the United States, the Commonwealth, and the City of Boston, and for his leaderhsip on veterans and diversity initiatives.  Read more.

2013 Recipient
Janet Donovan
Legal Advocacy Program Manager, Casa Myrna Vazquez

In 2013, Janet Donovan, JD '89, received the Public Service Award for her decades-long dedication to and advocacy for victims of domestic violence and her leadership in pro bono and mentoring efforts.

2012 Recipient
Ralph D. Gants
Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
Justice Ralph D. Gants of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court was honored in 2012 with the Public Service Award for his tireless work to, among other things, increase recognition of pro bono attorneys, encourage pro bono service among groups of attorneys not traditionally involved in such work, and promote pro bono service amongst bar leaders, law schools, and courts.

2011 Recipient
Allan Rodgers
Executive Director, Massachusetts Law Reform Institute
Allan Rodgers was honored with the 2011 Public Service Award.  As the Executive Director of the Massachusetts Law Reform Institute for a remarkable 41 years, Allan was honored for his extraordinary commitment to supporting Massachusetts residents through legal action, education, and advocacy.

2010 Recipient
Elissa Flynn-Poppey, JD '00
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.
In 2010, Rappaport Center Advisory Board Member Elissa Flynn-Poppey, JD ’00, received the Public Service Award for her leadership in the legislative re-drafting of Massachusetts restraining order legislation for victims of sexual assault, criminal stalking, and criminal harassment.

2009 Recipient
Meg Connolly
Executive Director, Volunteer Lawyers Project
Meg Connolly, the now retired Executive Director of the Volunteer Lawyers Project, received the 2009 Public Service Award for her lifetime commitment to public service and to ensuring access to justice.  The scope of VLP’s impact grew exponentially under Meg, despite the constant challenges of budget cuts, funding struggles, and minimal resources.